Weapons Violation Bail Bonds
Have Weapon Charges?
If you find yourself on the wrong end of a weapons charge, a bail bond can help you get of jail while you await your trial. Weapons charges in Connecticut can result in severe fines and jail time, but there’s no need to stay in jail before your trial if the judge offers a conditional bail release.
Connecticut has laws about a variety of different weapons, including concealed weapons. However, you could also find yourself arrested for the misuse of anything that can you can use as a weapon. Learn more here about how to use bail bonds for weapon charges in Connecticut.
What is a Weapon?
Connecticut law also includes other devices when considering “unlawful carry” of a weapon, including:
- Brass knuckles
- Sawed-off shotguns or rifles with barrels less than 18 inches long
- Handguns altered to be zip guns.
You could receive a weapons charge for using a handtool or a kitchen knife in an assault.
What is the Law?
If you plan to own a gun, you want to avoid weapon charges by knowing and following the law. Connecticut allows concealed carry and open carry for weapons, but you need a permit.
- Start by applying for a temporary permit from your local authorities
- Then submit a second application for a state-level permit through the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection (DESPP)
Without these permits, you can face a charge of illegally carrying a concealed weapon.
Illegally Owning a Gun
Owning a gun without a license in Connecticut can also result in a weapons offense. You must be 21 years of age and without a criminal conviction to own a gun. Before purchasing a firearm, you need either:
- A Connecticut Pistol Permit (CTPP)
- A Certificate of Eligibility for Pistol and Revolvers or Long Guns or Ammunition.
If you’re caught with an illegal weapon, or you’re facing a charge for the unlawful use of a weapon, a bail agent can help you get of jail while you await trial.
How Much is Bail for a Weapons Offense?
There’s no one-size-fits-all bail amount for a weapons charge. Depending on the seriousness of the offense and your criminal history, the judge determines a bail amount for you.
A misdemeanor weapons offense can lead to up to a year in prison plus a fine. For felony weapons offenses, you’ll face more prison time and more significant fines.
Weapon Charges Can Mean Significant Jail Time
If you’re facing significant jail time for weapon charges, don’t spend time in jail waiting for your trial. Let Liza Davis Bail Bonds help you bond out of jail before your trial. We understand the Connecticut court system and can help reduce the amount of time you spend in jail.
Contact us if you have questions about how to bail out of jail with a weapons violation!
We've been reuniting families with their loved ones for over 15 years with our professional Connecticut bail bond services. Our CT bail bonds include: